• Happy Scream Day! 😱

Lightweight Food Pack

Reaction score
I'm getting long in the tooth and trying to make sure my kit is light so I can keep on tripping with my dog, since he enjoys it so much. I've been using bear cans for several years, but they are relatively heavy considering that I'm shaving ounces off my other gear. Anyone have an lighter alternative? I have hanged packs, but transitioned away from the practice after seeing damage caused to trees in frequently used campsites. Maybe I'll have to use that approach again in a gentle way.

Ursacks are said to be light and said to be bearproof, at least against claws, maybe not against the crushing and stomping that a bear will do with it's front paws while trying to get in.

I'm an old geezer myself, and in all my years spent goofing off outdoors, have never seen a tree branch that was killed by rope damage... porcupines yes, they will eat the bark and green cambium layer, girdle branches and kill them.

But rope hangs should only strip bark from the top surface of a branch, leaving the lower surfaces intact and able to transport sap out to leaves so the branch stays alive. Maybe I haven't seen much and since I avoid crowds on canoe trips the damage hasn't been bad enough.

Older trees lose their lower branches anyway, this is one on the characteristics of old growth forests, no lower branches remaining, and good luck throwing a rope way up there into the upper canopy in old growth forests. Which aren't all that common around here, because of all the losses created by the logging that went unregulated for two hundred years and which we've got to live with to this day... well, never mind, before I forget what this thread was about, Ursack might be an option.

Last edited: