• Happy International Mermaid Day! 🧜🏼‍♀️

Fit to be tied

Reaction score
Hey again, my fast weathered friends,

Im having a wee bit of a dilemma. Im looking for about 100ft (or more) of cordage for ridge-lines and other outdoor tasks. It's between Amsteel Blue 1/8" and Dyneema 7/64". Do you any of you have a preference based on knot performance or otherwise functionality? Unfortunately i have no experience with either. My years of outdoor experience have been limited to using para-cord, which i absolutely love but now looking for something lighter and less water absorbent.

Also, i found two Canadian sites that carry both Amsteel and Dynnema - Marine Outfitters and Binnacle.

I believe dyneema is the fiber and amsteel is a trade name, both use the same fiber.

Having said that, I just bought 100' of amsteel 7/64" for my hammock suspension, at 1600 pound break strength, you don't need to go to 1/8" ... it's both a lot more expensive and a lot heavier. For ridge lines you may want to look at Zing-it or Lash-it, they come in 1.75 or 2.2 mm versions and that would be fine for ridge lines and most outdoor uses.

Brian

Ahh ok, i didn't know that. What did you pay for your 100' of Amsteel?

I can also buy 180' of Zing-It 2.2mm for $63.51 shipped.

Both Dyneema and Amsteel are trade names.

Yes, Zing-It or Lash-It if you must but why bother? Get some decent polyester kernmantle cord, it will be much more knot friendly and you can opt for something with a reflective tracer in it so that you don't decapitate yourself when going for a pee at night.

I use Lawson Glowire for all my tie outs. I like being able to colour code things so I can tell my ridge line from my corner ties. Never had to pay any customs fees on my orders from him.

I have some 7/64 stuff and it works great. The zing it also works very well. 1/8" is overkill.

The drawback to the finer rope is hard on the hands to pull if you are using it for something other than tying down tarps.