• Happy International Mermaid Day! 🧜🏼‍♀️

Down sleeping bag? (specific criteria)

G

I am looking for a down sleeping bag, something in the 20F range or lower. Preferably rectangular, so it can be unzipped as a giant blanket without neck baffles or foot box.

It has been a while since I bought a winter weight down bag. Dang, that’s some serious coin, even those I’ve seen on discount/outlet sites.

I have a zero degree synthetic bag (a Wiggys) and it does everything I want it to do in freezing temps, except pack down smaller than a beer keg.

Suggestions for a down bag that fits the bill? I would forgo the rectangular shape if that was easier on the wallet.

Kelty is a good starting place. I like Marmot bags which can sometimes be found on sale at a place like Campmoor. I would investigate the new dry down bags.

Two down bags are hard to beat in cold weather. Years ago I bought a canvas bedroll which is a very large piece of canvas with snaps. It is the cowboy suitcase. With a down bag, foam pad, thermarest and two wool blankets, it is good to below zero. The canvas does a good job of holding everything in place. I have slept in it in the open and awakened to 5 inches of snow with no problems. Lots of good solutions on this thread.

Last edited:
Kelty is a good starting place. I like Marmot bags which can sometimes be found on sale at a place like Campmoor. I would investigate the new dry down bags.

Most of the major manufacturers do a decent job with down bags. I have a Mountain Hardware 35/50 down flip rectangular bag that is perfect for my shoulder season desires. Basically this bag, but down, so it packs (without a compression bag) to the size of a grapefruit.

http://www.mountainhardwear.com/flip-35-50---reg-|-319-|-reg-786559903350.html

I probably wouldn’t have bought it, but it was deep discount discontinued, and it proved to be an ideal bag/blanket for shoulder seasons.