• Happy International Mermaid Day! 🧜🏼‍♀️

D-ring attachment

Reaction score
Hi All - I'm getting to outfitting my strip canoe with various essentials, one of which is attachment points for flotation bags in the bow and stern. I'm just wondering if anyone has done this in a strip canoe and what are their experiences. My thought is to just epoxy some webbing to the floor and the stem on each end with a d-ring in the center. I don't have a d-ring on hand, but the screw is in its place in these photos. I have some peel ply, which might be nice to use to keep things smooth, but I've never used it before, so I would need some help understanding how it behaves. The other option is to use the webbing as described but add a circle of fiberglass cloth around it as in the second photo. I think this might be overkill though, so I'm not so inclined to go this route. Plus, in the future it might be more difficult to remove or replace with it sandwiched between epoxy/glass and the hull. Any and all suggestions or experiences, including how to operate the peel ply, are welcome.

Thanks, Mark

P1270816.JPG

P1270818.JPG

Never done it but I'd vote for the second one with the fiberglass. I was thinking about this same setup last year so as a test I epoxied some webbing to a board. After it had fully cured I was able to rip it off. It wasn't easy but I could do it by hand using pliers to grip the webbing. The fact I was able to pull it off by hand made me uncomfortable so I laced the hull instead.

I've heard other people do it with success though so maybe I'd done something wrong but I thought I'd done right. Thought I used plenty of epoxy and I weighted it down with sand bags until cured.

Alan

No Title

photo4701.jpg photo4701.jpg I have 'glassed many webbing loop anchors into composite canoes. The same procedure would work fine for a stripper.