• Happy Midnight Ride of Paul Revere (1775)! ⛪🕯️🕛🏇🏼

Canoe "pack boat" on craigslist

Reaction score
If anyone is interested there is a posting for a canoe "pack boat" on Rochester, NY craigslist. It's in Amherst,NY according to the post. It states Length 12' 4," 27" beam and weighs 20 lbs. Asking $700 I don't know what the make is, but I'm sure someone here will know. I'm new to all this.

Looks in great shape. It is not a Placid or Swift.. It may indeed be a Slipstream. Does not fit the Adirondack Canoe Company's lineup
Of course I thought Hornbeck but those boats on that size have the back support a foam pad glued to the thwart.
My best guess is Slipstream
Turtle has the most experience with them It looks like a great buy.

I don't know who made it. it's not a slipstream. they only make a 10 1/2 and a 13. besides their boats are symmetrical. A mystery boat.

The stem treatment is different from anything I am familiar with; wood gunwales, no deck plates and a round section of ? covering the hull stems.

https://rochester.craigslist.org/boa/6102210363.html

If that is OEM it should be an indentifying outfitting mark.

I am thinking it has been re-gunawaled, and a nice job of it at that, which helps not in ID’ing the hull.

You can always ask the seller for the HIN, the first 3 letters should ID the manufacturer and from there it should be easy to whittle down the model.

The stems have been finished with auto door edge trim. Rubberized. Someone's been to Paul's shop. That's what he used on my DragonFly. But Colden doesn't make pack canoes.
I suspect it's a redo of a Bell Bucktail

My money is on a new small time builder trying to get his foot in the door. He says it's a new boat and that there are some cosmetic blems.

Alan