• Happy International Museum Day!🏛️ 🖼️🏺

First Time Major Repair

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am embarking on a big repair. I got my first canoe for free from a very kind couple who has stored it for years in their backyard. It has clearly been a home to some squirrels and chipmunks. It is not in the best shape, and I am seeking any advice you have. I've been a canoe trip leader for Girl Scouts for years and am used to aluminum Grumman boats. I have no idea the brand of this canoe, so if any of you know, please let me know. I would greatly appreciate it!

I am a complete novice when it comes to canoe repair, but I am quite handy. I have repaired furniture and completed a variety of maintenance and building projects. Because I am a novice, I really would appreciate any advice -- both general and specific. I've attached some pictures with specific questions, but please feel free to add more advice.

1. I plan on removing the floatation foam on both ends for obvious reasons. Does it need to be replaced? And if I do replace it, what are some good brands and any advice on install?
IMG_2629.jpg

2. I have no experience with canoes with a pole system like this. The length along the bottom is no longer attached to the bottom. How should I go about replacing it or resecuring it? I'd also like to add a yoke for easy carrying. What advice do you have for making a custom yoke to either (a) cover the metal thwart or (b) replace the thwart with a yoke?
IMG_2627.jpg

3. I got it for free, so, of course, there had to be a hole...How should I go about patching this?
IMG_2631.jpg

4. I'm planning to paint it. What brands do you suggest?
IMG_2632.jpg

I plan to take my time with this repair and hope to learn some valuable skills along the way. I know it is in rough shape right now. I look forward to reading your advice and hopefully hitting the water before the end of the summer.

mjpaddles,