• Happy Weed Appreciation Day! 🌱🌿🌻

Shop time during the coronavirus lockdown

Reaction score
I'm a residential building contractor, although now that I'm in semi-retirement mode, more of a small project contractor. Anyway, I recently remodeled a so-called butler's pantry from a 250 year old estate which had a solid walnut countertop fabricated on-site at least 75 years ago during a 1940's renovation. I'm assuming the walnut came from logs which were 75-100 years old judging by the slow growth annual rings, so the wood is probably 175 years old. Rather than tossing the thing into a dumpster, I saved it like I do with many useable bits of wood. Today, I removed the hand hammered zinc sink, and cut the material up into usable blanks for canoe paddle shaft, blade and grip accents, and some strips for making canoe slotted gunwale spacers, etc. I have no idea when I'll start using this, but it's fun imagining all the possibilities....a couple of the pieces have some nice crotch figure which will make cool book matched decks too!

On another job, I salvaged an entire cherry private library with raised panel doors & shelves from a fire restoration job where firefighters sprayed water in another room which made some of the cherry at floor level become stained. Insane that the insurance company paid to re-build the whole library! I saved tons of full 4/4 stock for re-use. More canoe components!

An anticipated cedar strip canoe build is on hold while my specialty lumber supplier is closed during the lockdown. No access to buy the necessary clear western red cedar until they re-open, but at least I can make paddles!

Patrick

As a old cabinet maker myself , I enjoyed your post. Keep them coming

I've been Cheat Carving with our shop's Shark CNC Router.
There are not a lot of choices in the Vetric Clip Art Library, that relate to canoes.

Here is a Moose that would look neat on a canoe deck.
J
IMG_3240_zpshdxy9vvc.jpg