• Happy National Garlic Day! 🧄🚫🧛🏼‍♂️

Some TLC for my favourite solo Shearwater

Reaction score
After about 25 years of abuse from hidden rocks or a mad dash to a rocky shore thanks to some thunder/lightening, my very well travelled Shearwater is in need of some serious TLC.
Keep gouges/scratches and 4 or 5 spider webs are starting to look dangerous. Any ideas on repair would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Ted
Click image for larger version  Name:	spider-webbing-2A.jpg Views:	1 Size:	279.7 KB ID:	95721
Click image for larger version  Name:	scratches.jpg Views:	1 Size:	363.4 KB ID:	95722

Last edited:
Pictures of the damage? I am no repair expert but do know gel coat is not structural.. I have resorted to epoxy and paint on my kayak

I’ve done gelcoat repairs, but nothing close to what I see in your pictures. My first reaction is to ignore it and keep using the canoe as is. looks like Ike you’ve gotten lots of good use out of that boat. Sometimes they just wear out.

Mark

It warms my heart to see such a well used Shearwater. I love my Shearwater.

I think you may find everything you want on the Swift website. Under the care and maintenance section they invite you to call them to discuss damage. If your spider cracks or deep gouges expose fabric then you follow the gelcoat repair instructions and if not you just keep paddling. If any parts of the boat have become soft then you have structural damage which can be remedied with a patch on the inside and they also have instructions for that. They sell repair kits for both types of repairs.

https://www.swiftcanoe.com/downloads

cool page gumpus! I also was told to be aggressive in chiseling out loose gel coat.. Kind of like trying to cement a loose tooth ; doesn't work

Thanks everyone. I guess that I shouldn't worry that my Shearwater is starting to look a lot like me now I'm 71.